top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

PIO (Progesterone In Oil) Tips and Tricks

So, I have been struggling with the intramuscular injections that I have to take daily. They are just getting so painful! I'm sure I'm not doing all the tricks correctly. This is what the needle looks like. It has to be long enough to get to the muscle, hence intramuscular.

So, the tips that I have received and have not been the best at implementing... other than icing...

STEP 1: Ice the area, such as the areas shown in the picture below. I use a little ice pack that I apply directly to the skin for about 5 mins to numb the area.

STEP 2: Bend over a counter to help with injecting it into the site, I find that it is less painful than lying on your stomach (probably some of the reason I'm so sore...).

STEP 3: Use your alcohol swab of course to sterile the area before the person you have performing the shot inserts it into the numbed area. Some people can do this themselves, I cannot bring myself to give myself this injection!

STEP 4: Have the gauze ready before you pull out the needle!! Sometimes you hit a vessel and it can bleed like crazy if you don't apply pressure and a gauze.

STEP 5: Heat and massage the area. This is where I'm lacking, I don't heat the area, but I do have the hubby massage it which is probably the most important part to get that oil to absorb.

BONUS: Another #IVFWarrior recommends warming the oil in the needle up to body temperature by placing it under your boob for a bit; she says it thins the oil a bit, again I've been too impatient to do this step...

So, other options to help ease the sting of the injection is to use lidocaine cream, but I could not seem to get it to numb my skin; I may need a prescription brand. I just got Aspercreme with 4% Lidocaine.

Good luck with the PIO for those who have to take it!!

Love,

Natasha


bottom of page